What is the Church?

I’ve been doing a lot more thinking about the church and what it is.  I’ve been a part of mega churches.  I’ve been part of house churches.  I’m just not interested in the model or form anymore.  Now my question is – are we making disciples?  Are people experiencing life together, helping one another,  and loving one another?  Do we get together and talk about the things the Lord is doing in our lives?  Do we share struggles and ask for help.  Do we really offer help?

I’ve been struck lately in John’s Gospel with the fact that Jesus goes on quite a bit about if you love me, keep my commandments… but the ONE commandment he mentions keeping is that “you love one another as I have loved you.”  He didn’t use it to talk about “the sin issues” we often get caught up in (Not saying those aren’t important by the way.) But he emphasized loving one another.

So now I’m on a journey to explore more of this.  I’m not interested in models.  I’m not interested in movements.

How do we love each other?   Correction: How do I love my brothers and sisters?  So God has me looking at ways and stepping out in ways to help my brothers and sisters.  For me,  a lot of time, it’s practical /financial.

I’m trying to help meet real needs and relieve some stress for brothers and sisters who’ve suffered loss in this recession.

I’m also working on other areas of my relationships.  I have a number of friends that I meet at various times but still on a regular basis.  There are no “leaders” but there is real ministry.  There is real transparency.   There is real relationship and love.  I think this is more the church than anything.

I hope that when I leave this Earth, Jesus will say well done.  So to answer the question,  I believe the Church is a group of believers connected to one another in love.  I don’t think it has to do with Pastors, or Elders.  Those are important, but the Church can exist if they’re not present.  But the Church does not exist without real love and real relationships.

Meanwhile,  remember one of Jesus’ last commands to his disciples.  “Love One Another.”

2 Comments

Filed under Love Your Neighbor, Relationship, The Church

2 responses to “What is the Church?

  1. Good to see you posting again.
    God bless,
    Steve

  2. John,

    You’re definitely on the right track by focusing on the commands of Christ. I think we too often get hung up on models, strategy, methodology, materials, etc. when what it boils down to is obedience: Obedience to obey what Christ said. He commanded, “go make disciples of the nations”. If we do our part, He will do his part, “I will build my church…”

Leave a Reply

